Home | BWG Meetings | About Us | BWG Member Websites | How do I join?

About Us

During the winter of 1994, a number of self-published African American writers attended an Afrocentric literary function at the Sharp Street United Methodist Church in Baltimore. There arose a discussion about a common problem shared by all in attendance and then an idea emerged out of that conversation as to how combining the efforts of those present at that event as well as others could prove beneficial to all. Ella Guidry-Harrison and Louis Diggs took the bull by the horns, and after collecting names and telephone numbers of interested authors, set a date and time for a meeting. The two were able to secure a room at Coppin State College in 1995 to begin meeting and organizing strategies.

Today the Black Writers’ Guild is a growing group of diverse writers in the Baltimore Metropolitan area of Maryland. The Guild was incorporated in 1997 and the 501C3 non-profit status became effective on December 4, 2000.

We meet monthly for workshops and speakers on a number of topics relevant to the writing life. Many of our members are published authors. Others are writers aspiring to their first publication. Our members write in all genres: fiction, historical, spiritual prose, essays, autobiographies and everything else. Our published authors have many opportunities throughout the year to showcase and sell their books as the Guild participates in several local book fairs and festivals where we rent tables for the event. We sponsor a big literary event each April where our members as well as members of the community have the chance to read their new works in a public forum. We also sponsor an annual Holiday dinner in December and a luncheon in June to celebrate the closing of our program year.


Louis S. Diggs
Ella Guidry-Harrison
Robert S. Wood
Louis Fields
James S. "Michael" Wright
Jennifer Gaither
English Bradshaw
Benjamin Prestbury


President - James Wright

Treasurer - Brenda McClellan

Secretary - Rosa L. Griffin

Communications Officer - Wilma Brockington-Parker

Board Member - Delegate Barbara Robinson